The Pryor Times

State News

April 19, 2012

Candidates file for state offices

District 5 Rep. Doug Cox, a Grove Republican, filed as a candidate for his state seat representing Delaware and Mayes counties. He will be returned to office as no other candidates filed.

District 6 Rep. Chuck Hoskin, a Vinita Democrat, filed as a candidate for his seat representing Craig, Mayes and Rogers counties and will be returned for another two years as he drew no opposition.

District 8 Rep. Ben Sherrer, a Chouteau Democrat, filed as a candidate for his seat representing Mayes Rogers and Wagoner counties.  He will be returned to office for another two years as he drew no opposition.

District 1 Sen. Charles Wyrick, a Fairland Democrat, drew opposition from Michael Romero, a Miami Republican. District 1 covers parts of Craig, Delaware, Mayes and Ottawa counties.

In District 3, Sen. Jim Wilson, a Tahlequah Democrat, is term limited. Democrat candidates for that office are Jim Bynum of Park Hill and Brian Sitsler of Westville. Republican candidates are Cyndi McArtor of Grove and Wayne Shaw of Grove. District 3 covers parts of Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Mayes and Rogers counties.

Other candidates filing include Corporation Commissioner Bob Anthony, a Republican of Oklahoma City, and Brooks Mitchell, a Republican of Oklahoma  City.

Patrice Douglas, an Edmond Republican, was the only candidate to file for the remainder of the term of Jeff Cloud who resigned in September. Douglas was appointed by Gov. Mary Fallin. There are two years remaining on that term.

Candidates for District 2 Representative are Democrats Wayne Harriman of Muskogee, Earl E. Everett of Fort Gibson and Rob Wallace of Fort Gibson. Republicans are Dustin Rowe of Tishomingo, Dakota Wood of Claremore, Markwayne Mullin of Westville, Dwayne Thompson of Fort Gibson, George Faught of Muskogee and Wayne Pettigrew of McAlester. One independent filed, Michael G. Fulks of Heavener. Rep. Dan Boren announced last year that he would not be seeking re-election.

The primary is June 26, runoff election Aug. 28 and general election Nov. 6.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
State News
Local Highlights

Which do you prefer,

Pryor Creek
Doesn't matter
     View Results
AP Video