The Pryor Times


March 15, 2013

Pryor celebrates wrestling season

PRYOR, OK — The Pryor Wrestling Takedown Club celebrated the 2012-13 season at J.L.'s on Monday, March 11. Over 70 fans attended the event.

Senior grappler Jon Gerrior was awarded the Most Outstanding Wrestler award. Gerrior, who wrestled at 220 pounds, placed fourth at the state 5A meet. Gerrior wrapped up his Tiger career with a 37-13 record.

Junior Kelvin Grubbs was also recognized as a state qualifier. Grubbs posted a 1-2 record at the state tournament at 152 pounds.

Other high school awards handed out were the Most Improved Wrestler Award, won by Dylan Wright, and the Mean Dean Robertson Award, won by Jesse Greer. The Mean Dean Robertson Award is given to the top first-year wrestler.

Christian Campbell was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler out of the junior high ranks. Newcomer of the Year Nevin Henson placed third at the state junior high tournament in the heavyweight division.

Most Improved Wrestler Curtis Smallwood finished sixth at state at 143 pounds.

High school head coach David Gilstrap and junior high head coach Shawn Hodges handed out the hardware. Gilstrap led his team to an 11-9 dual record in 2012-13. Hodges' crew finished with an 8-3 dual record and won the Locust Grove and Pryor tournaments.

Lay coaches Jeremy Hooker and Shane Clark were also recognized at the event for supervising the preseason conditioning program.

Also recognized was Dr. Bret Gray, whose elementary program has sent more experienced prospects to the junior high teams for several years.

Paul Ameen, president of the Northeast Oklahoma Wrestling Officials Association, was the featured speaker at the event.

Ameen played football and wrestled at Midwest City in the 1970s and has officiated meets for 27 years, including the Tiger Classic/Doug Rial Invitational as well as many duals. Ameen was named the Jim Thorpe Award for Male Athlete in Oklahoma in 1976.

Note: Information provided by Dean Robertson.


Text Only | Photo Reprints