The Pryor Times

January 21, 2013

Local swim team dominates



The Pryor High School Swim Team won a meet it hosted Jan. 17, at the Pryor Rec Center, with a combined score of 868 points.

The next closest team was Tulsa Memorial with 436 points. Claremore finished third with 309 points, followed by Miami with 140 points. Adair took fifth with 95 points.

Individually for Pryor and Adair, Emily McGouldrick won the 100 Backstroke with a time of 1:26.51.

Alex Smith won the 50-yard Freestyle in 23.19, Bethanie Lemmings in the 100 Breaststroke with 1:37.81, Dori Ware in the girls 50-yard Freestyle with a 28.85 and Travis Watters in the 500 Free with a time of 8:03.85.

For Adair, Abby Peters won the 100 Free in 1:06.17.

Smith placed second in the 100 Butterfly swimming a 57.94, Dusty Samford in the 200-Yard Freestyle in 2:14.93 and Ware in the girls’ 100 Free 1:06.31.

 Third place finishers were Colby Pettus in the 50 Free, Tyler Newby in the 100 Free, Rachel Ross in the 50 Free, Emily Pippin in the 100 Free, Trevor McDaniel in the 100 Back, Sarah Chase in the 100 Breaststroke and Ryan Pettus in the 100 Breast.

Fourth place finishers include Ethan Markle from Adair in the 50 Free, Emily Geitzen in the 50 Free, Evan Geitzen in the 200 Free and Samford in the 100 Breast.

Other swimmers in the meet were Josh Ogg, fifth in the 100 Breast, Brandon Cummings in the 50 Free, Jeffrey Helmuth in the 200 Free, Josh Ross in the 50 Free and Ethan Gordon in the 50 Free and 100 Butterfly.

“Some of the kids have been battling the flu and some are battling it now,”  Head Coach Brian Smith said.  “I applaud those who competed while in the condition they were and I hope they all get well soon. Overall, we swam good  but we still need to get that attitude that we can't be beat and perform that way. Our next few meets will determine a lot of who goes to the state meet in Jenks on Feb. 15-16. I hope the kids accept the challenge to dig in and fight for the coveted state swim qualifcation. I was really proud of our 11 seniors who swam in their only home meet of the season. They are a great bunch of kids to coach.”  

2013 Seniors include: Bethanie Lemmings, Alex Smith, Ryan Pettus, Trevor McDaniel, Logan Brown, Bryce Hauenstein, Ethan Gordon, Jordan Moore, Tyler Newby, Evan Geitzen and Josh Ogg.