The Pryor Times


December 25, 2013

Pryor's McCammon leads All-District 5A-4 selections

PRYOR, OK — Pryor senior defensive lineman Alex McCammon was named the District 5A-4 Defensive Player of the Year by the district's football coaches.

McCammon, a 5-foot-11, 230 pound nose guard, netted 80 tackles and nine sacks.

All-district honors are presented to seniors only.

Will Stover was named all-district on the offensive line. A trio of Tigers were selected on defense: Jordan Williams on the defensive line, Kyle Goforth at linebacker and Taylor Kegley at defensive back.

Pryor running back Matt McGouldrick, defensive lineman Dayton Bogle, linebacker Ryan Northcutt, lineman Josiah Gauger and wide receiver-cornerback Kegan Yates were given honorable mentions.

Central quarterback DeAngelo Brewer collected the nod for Player of the Year. Collinsville QB Zane McElroy took Offensive Player of the Year and his coach Kevin Jones was named Coach of the year. Claremore's Caleb Webster won Special Teams Player of the Year honors.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
  • adair abbey stephens.jpg Adair aiming high in 2014

    Adair's Lady Warriors will have plenty of chances to earn respect and a shot at the program's third straight regional tournament appearance in 2013.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • dirtseller pirtle.JPG Locals take their game nationwide

    Five Locust Grove Pirates represented the United States over the weekend at the USA Football 16U/17U National Development Games in Towson, Md.

    July 28, 2014 2 Photos

  • Patterson, McIntire named to rosters

    Salina's Cullen Patterson and Locust Grove's Cameron McIntire have been selected as replacements for this week's Oklahoma Coaches Association All-State events in Tulsa.

    July 27, 2014

  • kegley mug.jpg Pryor's Kegley serving with purpose

    Pryor's Taylor Kegley always knew he was destined for a career of service.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Chouteau approves athletic upgrades

    Chouteau High School is getting a head start on making upgrades to its athletic facilities.

    July 22, 2014

  • doty mug web.jpg Ex-Tiger Doty adjusting on and off the field

    Former Pryor Tiger Christian Doty joined the Oklahoma Baptist University football team for its first season in 73 years in 2013, and rejoined the team Friday to begin preparations for the school's sophomore season.

    July 19, 2014 2 Photos

  • lococo.jpg Wildcats marching to their own beat

    After spring sports finished, Salina head coach Matt Williams had a peculiar message for his football team.

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Tigers earn top seed, fall in semis

    Pryor's improved passing game was on display again Monday, as the Tigers traveled to Hilldale for a 7-on-7 tournament and finished in the tourney's top four.

    July 15, 2014

  • IMG_9538KRT.jpg Summer Nationals returns to Chouteau Bend

    After a year-long hiatus, the Mid-America Summer Nationals drag boat races will return to Chouteau Bend.

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • brock taylor.JPG Pirates slowed at 7-on-7 showcase

    Locust Grove went head-to-head against some of the best skill players in the region last weekend at the Southwest Elite 7-on-7 Showcase in Springdale, Ark.

    July 14, 2014 2 Photos