The Pryor Times

January 25, 2014

PIT: Berryhill sneaks past LG for championship

The Pryor Times

PRYOR, OK — Berryhill got 20 points from Pryor Invitational MVP Chandler Moczygemba and came from behind to bounce Locust Grove, 43-40, in the tournament title game Saturday at the Burdick Center.

Locust Grove (11-2) led nearly from the opening tip until the 5:08 mark of the fourth quarter, when an Anthony Mayberry bucket and free throw put the Chiefs up 36-35.

Tyler Rowland, who was named to the all-tournament squad, knocked down a triple two minutes later to give LG the lead again, but that's when Moczygemba went to work. The senior scored six points in the final quarter, including a key bucket inside of two minutes to give Berryhill its biggest lead of the game (three points).

Tyler Halpain had a chance to tie the contest with five seconds left, but his 3-pointer was wide right.

Mason Fine, the Locust Grove Invitational MVP, added seven points for the Pirates and was also chosen for the all-tourney team. Zach Robinson added six points and four assists.

Mayberry, one of three Berryhill players named to the all-tourney team, scored 11 points and grabbed three rebounds.

Note: Report compiled by Chuck Porter.

Lady Pirates earn third place

PRYOR — The Locust Grove Lady Pirates captured bronze at the Pryor Invitational Tournament Saturday after defeating Class 4A No. 16 Berryhill, 40-31.

Junior Kennedy Sokoloski led the Lady Pirates (10-3) with 14 points to lead all scorers and also added seven rebounds. Sokoloski earned all-tournament honors later in the night, along with fellow junior Madison Davis.

Davis posted six points against Berryhill, but put up 16 in Locust’s opening game against Collinsville. Berryhill’s Hailey Melton led the Chieftains with eight points and Josie Hammock added six.  

The Lady Pirates will set sail for Catoosa Tuesday night for another go-around with the Lady Indians. Locust defeated Catoosa 71-32 in the two teams' last match-up on homecoming night at Pirate Arena. The two will tip-off at 6:30 p.m.

Note: Report compiled by Dekota Gregory.