January 15, 2014

Locust Grove celebrates football season

January 15, 2014 The Pryor Times

LOCUST GROVE, OK — In addition to the myriad awards Locust Grove Pirate football players racked up during and after the season, the team was honored at a banquet Wednesday, Jan. 8 and coaches and school faculty presented more hardware to the players.

Senior Cory Rohde was honored with the "Big Kale" Ultimate Pirate Award, named after teammate Kale Davidson. Seniors Ryan Woolman and Traden Sokoloski were given the Pirate Pride Awards.

Sophomore quarterback Mason Fine was given the Principal's Award and also took home Offensive Player of the Year honors. Sophomore Trevor Taylor was named the team's Defensive Player of the Year. Cameron McIntire and Daniel Woodruff split the Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

Woolman also picked up the Offensive Lineman of the Year Award and one of two Iron Man awards, shared with Calin Witt. Rohde also won the "Unbreakable" Award and Offensive Hitman of the Year. Taylor was named Defensive Hitman of the Year.

Fifteen Pirate players, managers and trainers were named to the Academic All-Conference First-Team, with six — Fine, Jason Pirtle, Jeremy Woodruff, Jaren Dirtseller, Dylan Luper and Rhett Pursley — achieving perfect 4.0 GPAs. Eighteen were named to the second-team.

Text Only | Photo Reprints