The Pryor Times


May 3, 2012

Field of 20 set for Derby

Post positions for Saturday’s 138th running of the Kentucky Derby were announced on Wednesday from Churchill Downs in Louisvile.

For the ninth straight year, the Derby has attracted at least 20 entrants. The Derby is limited to 20 horses, based on those with the greatest earnings in graded stakes.

Owners of horses in the Derby pay $25,000 apiece to enter and another $25,000 to start.

Post time is set for 5:24 p.m. (CDT).

Kentucky Derby

Track — Churchill Downs, Louisville

When — Saturday

Purse — $2 Million

Distance — 1 1/4 miles (10 furlongs)

No.  Horse (Jockey)

1 Daddy Long Legs (C. Donoghue)

2 Optimizer (J. Court)

3 Take Charge Indy (C. Borel)

4 Union Rags (J. Leparoux)

5 Dullahan (K. Desormeaux)

6 Bodemeister (M. Smith)

7 Rousing Sermon (J. Lezcano)  

8 Creative Cause (J. Rosario)  

9 Trinniberg (W. Martinez)  

10 Daddy Nose Best (G. Gomez)  

11 Alpha     R. Maragh (K. McLaughlin)

12 Prospective (L. Contreras)   

13 Went the Day Well (J. Velazquez)  

14 Hansen (R. Dominguez)

15 Gemologist (J. Castellano)   

16 El Padrino (R. Bejarano)      

17 Done Talking (S. Russell)

18 Sabercat (C. Nakatani)  

19 I'll Have Another (M. Gutierrez)

20 Liaison (M. Garcia)

Text Only | Photo Reprints