The Pryor Times


June 23, 2014

Tigers win Three Rivers tournament

PRYOR, OK — Gaige Mendivil threw a complete game shutout to lead Pryor past Oologah, 6-0, in the Three Rivers League Tournament summer league championship game Saturday at American Legion Memorial Field.

Spencer Henson launched a solo home run, his second home run of the summer, to spearhead Pryor's 13-hit show Saturday.

The Tigers outscored the opposition 33-3 over the four-day tournament and run-ruled each of their three pool opponents in five innings.

Mendivil struck out four Mustangs, gave up two hits and walked four.

Nason Pace, Drew Miller, Conley Ledoux and Damon Burroughs each had a pair of base-hits for the Tigers.

Pace batted in a pair of runs. Miller, Henson and Drew McCollough each had an RBI.

The Tigers will co-host the East-West State Tournament with Claremore this weekend. Pryor will take on Carl Albert, the same team that knocked the Tigers out of the past two 5A spring state tournaments, Thursday at 7:30 p.m.

Pryor 10, Sapulpa 2 (Friday)

PRYOR — Henson smacked his first home run of the summer, part of a 3-for-4 day at the plate as Pryor routed Sapulpa 10-2 in five innings in a Three Rivers League Tournament pool game.

The top of the order — Anthony Martinez, Pace and Henson — combined to go 7-for-11 with six RBIs. The bottom of the order — Tylor Arnold, Ledoux and Mendivil — went 6-for-7.

Martinez had an RBI double, and Arnold rounded the bags for a triple.

Christian Campbell earned the win in four innings, allowing three hits and two runs. Dylan Roberson pitched a perfect fifth inning to seal the win.

East-West Summer State Tournament

Thursday-Saturday, June 26-28

Pool A at Claremore: Blanchard, Claremore, Collinsville, Vinita

Pool B at Pryor: Carl Albert, Piedmont, Pryor, Skiatook


At Claremore

Game 1 — Blanchard vs. Collinsville, 5 p.m.

Game 3 — Vinita vs. Claremore, 7:30 p.m.

At Pryor

Game 2 — Piedmont vs. Skiatook, 5 p.m.

Game 4 — Carl Albert vs. Pryor, 7:30 p.m.


At Claremore

Game 5 — Game 1 Loser vs. Game 3 Loser, 2:30 p.m.

Game 7 — Game 1 Winner vs. Game 3 Winner, 5 p.m.

Game 9 — Game 5 Winner vs. Game 7 loser, 7:30 p.m.

At Pryor

Game 6 — Game 2 Loser vs. Game 4 Loser, 2:30 p.m.

Game 8 — Game 2 Winner vs. Game 4 Winner, 5 p.m.

Game 10 — Game 6 Winner vs. Game 8 loser, 7:30 p.m.


At Claremore


Game 11 — Pool A Runner-Up (Game 9 Winner) vs. Pool B Champion (Game 8 Winner), noon

Game 12 — Pool B Runner-Up (Game 10 Winner) vs. Pool A Champion (Game 7 Winner), 2:30 p.m.


Game 11 Winner vs. Game 12 Winner, 5 p.m.

Text Only | Photo Reprints