The Pryor Times

Agriculture

November 23, 2013

One-day license for visitors

PRYOR, OK — Pryor Times

Visitors to the Sooner State who want to enjoy a spur-of-the-moment fishing outing now have a more cost-effective alternative to obtain the necessary license. On Nov. 1, the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation began offering a one-day nonresident fishing license for the first time.

“This new option allows people who are simply visiting for one day to enjoy fishing on Oklahoma's lakes and streams without having to buy the six-day license as they did before,” said Michael Chrisman, license section supervisor for the Wildlife Department.

Previously, residents from other states who needed a fishing license in Oklahoma had the choice to buy either a six-day nonresident fishing license for $35 or an annual nonresident fishing license for $55. The nonresident one-day license costs $15.

Beginning Nov. 1, legislation sponsored by state Sen. Josh Brecheen (R-Coalgate) and state Rep. Charles McCall (R-Atoka) created the one-day nonresident fishing license. Senate Bill 780 also increased penalties for the improper disposal of wildlife.

“When someone visiting Oklahoma decides to go fishing for a day, this new license will be a great option in addition to the six-day license that they would have had to buy previously,” said Melinda Streich, assistant director of the Wildlife Department. “The one-day license should appeal especially to those people who tend to make last-minute decisions when visiting family or friends for the weekend.”

Nonresidents will still be able to buy the six-day and annual fishing licenses, in addition to the new one-day nonresident license.

The one-day license can be purchased ahead of time, and the buyer can choose the day that the license will be valid. These licenses expire at midnight at the end of the day the license is valid. Most fishing and hunting licenses are available for purchase at the Wildlife Department's web site at wildlifedepartment.com or from retail license vendors across the state.

An Oklahoma nonresident fishing license is required for any nonresident who takes, attempts to take or possesses fish or other aquatic-dwelling organisms by any method in Oklahoma. Nonresidents who are 13 and younger are exempt from license requirements. Also exempt are nonresidents 15 and younger who live in Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Texas or Wisconsin.

Also, Oklahoma's reciprocal license agreement with Texas allows anyone 65 or older who is a resident of the Lone Star State to fish in Oklahoma without having to buy a license.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Agriculture
Local Highlights
Poll

Which do you prefer,

Pryor
Pryor Creek
Doesn't matter
     View Results
AP Video
Stocks